Left Ole Miss Graphic

Site Links

Mississippi Teams

Mississippi Venues

Other NCAA Teams

Other Links




Are you ready?

Hell yes! Damn Right!

Hotty Toddy, Gosh almighty

Who the hell are we, Hey!

Flim Flam, Bim Bam

Ole' Miss by Damn!



The University of Mississippi also known as Ole' Miss was the first football team to be formed in the state of Mississippi. In 1890 Dr. A.L. Bondurant encouraged Ole' Miss students to help in the formation of an Athletic Association in the interests of football, baseball and tennis. In 1893, the first football team was organized. The first coach at Ole' Miss was J.W.S. Rhea. He led the team to a 6-1 record in there very first season.


In its 114 year history the Ole' Miss Football program has claimed three national championships (1959, 1960, and 1962), six Southeastern Conference titles (1947, 1954, 1955, 1960, 1962, and 1963), and one SEC Western Division title in 2003. Forty five first team All-American athletes have played for the Ole' Miss and they have appeared in 32 bowl games. They have also sent 200 players into the NFL. There has been two times that Ole' Miss did not field a football team. In 1897, a yellow fever epidemic cancelled the football season. In 1943, football was abolished at all Mississippi state-supported institutions by the state College Board of Trustees due to World War II.


The Ole' Miss Rebels have two main teams that they consider there rivals; Mississippi State and LSU. Ole' Miss has been playing against Mississippi State since 1901. The first "Battle of the Golden Egg" game was played in 1927 which is an annual college football game between the two Mississippi teams. Ole Miss' traditional Sec rival is LSU. Ole' Miss first played LSU on December 3, 1894 winning 26-6. The two schools are highly ranked and almost every time they play each other there is conference or national titles on the line. A trophy has now been named for the LSU-Ole Miss rivalry known as the "Magnolia Bowl" which began in 2008.


Ole' Miss has ten former players and coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame; Frank "Bruiser" Kinard, Charles Conerly, Barney Poole, John Vaught, Doug Kenna, Thad "Pie" Vann, Archie Manning, Parker Hall, Jake Gibbs, and Charlie Flowers. They have two former players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame; Frank "Bruiser" Kinard and Gene Hickerson. Ole' Miss also has one former player in the National Quarterback Club Hall of Fame which is Archie Manning.


© 2019 OleMissRebelsTickets.com
Terms of Service


Purchase Ole Miss Football Tickets Ole Miss Rebels Football Schedule National Association of Ticket Brokers Verified Business Member means you're protected

Team Roster

Coaches Players Past Players
Left Fringe Graphic